The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2008, 05:49 AM

neversink will become famous soon enoughneversink will become famous soon enough
Stripping Basket: Orvis, bucket, or mesh?

I have been using Orvis stripping basket for nearly 6 years, and pretty much satisfied except on 2 things.

1. Packing:
it's just a box with spikes unfriendly for backpackers, no matter how many Patagonia stickers you put on it.

2. Single hand stripping:
bit uncomfortable when adjusting basket positions, when you mix short and long strokes.

When I look outside the box, I see leaf bucket type which looks to me is trouble moving about and I see collapsable mesh type which looks not so strong against ever blowing wind.

What is your say on this? Any good recommendation for an alternative?
Old 06-03-2008, 09:33 AM
Joni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond reputeJoni has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Stripping Basket: Orvis, bucket, or mesh?

I like mine. The William Joseph. It is mesh, but you push the basket in and it is a belt. Great for crawling into remote places. Maybe not the most user friendly as far as cones not being in the bottom to keep line straight, but perfect for rivers and streams. Now, salt water fishing I think the Orvis is kewl. I guess cause on rivers I MAY have 70' of line out on rare occasions but salt water you want as much as you can get.
Old 06-03-2008, 11:50 AM