The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 03:31 AM

RWH is on a distinguished road
Default Flambeau Blue Ribbon fly boxes

I am wanting to know if any of you folks have used the Flambeau Blue Ribbon fly boxes yet? At about 20-30 bucks a box depending on the configuration, are they good to go? Thanks in advance.
Old 01-17-2009, 06:23 AM

glassroddr has a spectacular aura aboutglassroddr has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Flambeau Blue Ribbon fly boxes

I've been using them for 2 years now and find them very well made. They are very sturdy and waterproof. For my trout flies. I have the medium ones with the ripple foam and compartments. Very satisfied with them.
Old 01-17-2009, 06:45 AM

Shane Stroud is a jewel in the roughShane Stroud is a jewel in the roughShane Stroud is a jewel in the rough

I'm pretty sure that the little fly box that comes with the Dr. Slick lanyard is either a blatant copy or a rebranded Flambeau Blue Ribbon 1916CR. It's tiny. According to the advertisements, it's supposed to be a "day's worth of flies." Yeah, right. I suppose that depends on how good they're biting and how bad you're casting. I keep a few nymphs, some dries, and a few buggers in it.

I took a look at them at Dick's Sporting goods to do a comparison, and they look identical, and pretty well made. My only critique is that the hinge pin between the sides on all the models I have looked at isn't tacked, glued, or peened in place. It slides out over time, and I can just see myself hunting for that tiny little thing in the current.