The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Tackle Talk > Other Gear

Other Gear All other fly fishing gear including tools, gadgets, clothing, float tubes, pontoons and other boats.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 09:38 AM

EDYak is on a distinguished road
Default tungsten studs??, what exactly should they do?

I'm new to all this, but have to say am probably addicted!
I'm from New Zealand.
I have brought a pair of Scierra Dynatrack boots with Tungsten studs - thinking and being led to believe that the studs aided in grip on the slimmy rocks in the local rivers. On first 2 uses this was or seemed to be proved the correct thinking as they worked great - I even managed to hook 10 local Browns, so was feeling pretty good about them - must have been the boots cause my technique suxs!
On getting home after the 2nd outing I noticed that several of the studs on both boots had, for want of a better term, "broken".
When 1st brought the studs look sort of like short rivets before they have been fired. After the second use when I noticed the problem the central spike of the stud had broken away - the Tungsten spike.
So took them back to the shop, where the salesman said himself that he thought that they should'nt have broken off,as that was the part that gave most of the grip, He sent them back to the Scierra people (importers) for me.
Today I get a call saying that these studs are soft and prone to breaking and are for bank side/grass traction not traction on the rocks as I believed.
I spent the money to get decent gear so I would'nt hopefully have to buy again too soon - but at the rate these are breaking and I guess, would wear down was it the right decision - was the info I have been given correct?
sorry this is so long winded - would really appreciate some advice from people with some experience.
Thanks
Dave
Old 03-09-2009, 10:13 AM