The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Other Gear (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/other-gear/)
-   -   float tube!? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/other-gear/93745-float-tube.html)

christianfishn 01-15-2011 09:34 PM

float tube!?

Well im lookin to buy myself a new float tube for pond hoppin an slow floatin. ive narrowed it down to the outcast fish cat ics standard or the deluxe version. To get to the point im trying to figure out if the extra cash for the deluxe version is worth the extra cash.:confused: if anyone has any first hand experience etc. with these any info would be great! thank for you help.

caseywise 01-15-2011 09:46 PM

Re: float tube!?

hello and welcome,
i have the fish cat 4 lcs and absolutely love it. as far as the deluxe model, no comment, as i've had no experience with it. outcast makes quality gear and i think you would be happy either way.:)

casey

christianfishn 01-15-2011 09:55 PM

how is it for comfort and etc. from what ive heard your rear stays pretty dry is this correct/

MoscaPescador 01-15-2011 09:57 PM

I prefer the one with the inflatable seat. Since you can vary the amount of air in the bladders, you can fine tune the level of comfort.

Also with the bottom bladder for the seat inflated, you sit higher than the sagging foam seat.

christianfishn 01-15-2011 10:03 PM

thats what i was thinking but wasn't sure. With the tube do you recommend anything with it? other than waders anf fins?

Jimmie 01-15-2011 11:17 PM

The super fat cat is the first tube I ever floated (it belonged to a friend). Like everyone says it sits you up higher. Yes your rear is out of the water. There is room behind the seat for storage. It's one of the larger ones IMO.
I ended up buying a Bucks Bag. I liked it because when sitting close to the water I felt more control moving it.

christianfishn 01-15-2011 11:29 PM