The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the Caribbean > Other

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2011, 08:55 PM

GuyFromLaw will become famous soon enoughGuyFromLaw will become famous soon enough
Default River Clyde, Scotland

I hope this is the appropriate venue for this post, if not, mods please accept my apologies.

I'm new to you guys and intend to scurry around your archives and find out what you have all been up to and how you all do it over there.

Whilst I'm here I'll give back what I can, so I've started this thread and I shall bring you fishing reports throughout the season.

We're fishing for Atlantic salmon, sea and brown trout, mainly on my local river, the Clyde, but I'll also post reports from elsewhere too.

The Clyde is a spate river and in the run up to the summer salmon and grilse runs, we've been experiencing very low water conditions. The stretch I'm fishing is controlled by United Clyde AP Assoc, and sits above a large weir with a crudely sited and wholly inadequate fish ladder, so we really rely on the rain to bring us fish up.

Migratories aside, we also have some superb brown trout and grayling fishing.

Here's a peak at one of my favourite salmon pools. There's usually a fast run spilling down into the pool, but as you can see it's so low there's simply not much flow at all.

Click the image to open in full size.

A couple of harsh winters have seen the river almost completely frozen over for most of it's 106 mile course, and when the thaws set in the river was flowing with thick encrusted ice packs which have gouged and scoured the river bed completely changing the pools. It's been heartache arriving down in the spring for it to dawn on you that those well known lies are now gone, but it gives you a fresh challenge in seeking out other suitable lies newly formed.