The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Pacific Northwest (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/pacific-northwest/)
-   -   Looking for some good spots near Clackamas or Sandy Rivers (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/pacific-northwest/243528-looking-some-good-spots-near-clackamas-sandy-rivers.html)

fryfishingguy 02-23-2012 10:19 AM

Looking for some good spots near Clackamas or Sandy Rivers

So I'm new to the Portland area and KNOW there are probably dozens of great fishing spots but I wanted to ask forum members if they had any specifically that were good for them...

I'm looking for someplace where I can wade to maybe 2" and have a clear view (not murky) of the bottom, with water that's not flowing too fast so that I can bring my 11 year old with me. Ideally, 45 min drive so from Tigard/Beaverton area and with ready access from the road.. so I don't have to hike from where I park..

I'm told there are quite a few spots like this on the Clackamas river, but I don't know where to even start looking... thanks all for the help.

Sam

BigCliff 02-23-2012 11:54 AM

Re: Looking for some good spots near Clackamas or Sandy Rivers

I fished the Clack a bit at Clackamette park, but the flow's pretty heavy there. Apparently its a good spot to net smelt during the run though.

There's access at a boat ramp across the river from Carver, with a steep creek pouring into the river right there.

I fished the Sandy as well, from Wildwood Park, I think. I caught nothing at any of those spots, how y'all do better.

Aside from fishing, enjoy Gustav's and McMenamin's.

mikel 02-23-2012 12:01 PM

Maybe some locals will chime in, but I have fished the Clack above Estacada...actually, above the reservoir, just a bit. Quite a bit of access. Lots of smaller trout eager to hit a dry or stimi/dropper. (This was summer, so check for current conditions.)