The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Pacific Northwest

Pacific Northwest Alaska, Oregon and Washington. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2012, 10:19 AM

fryfishingguy is on a distinguished road
Default Looking for some good spots near Clackamas or Sandy Rivers

So I'm new to the Portland area and KNOW there are probably dozens of great fishing spots but I wanted to ask forum members if they had any specifically that were good for them...

I'm looking for someplace where I can wade to maybe 2" and have a clear view (not murky) of the bottom, with water that's not flowing too fast so that I can bring my 11 year old with me. Ideally, 45 min drive so from Tigard/Beaverton area and with ready access from the road.. so I don't have to hike from where I park..

I'm told there are quite a few spots like this on the Clackamas river, but I don't know where to even start looking... thanks all for the help.

Sam
Old 02-23-2012, 11:54 AM
Super Moderator

BigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant futureBigCliff has a brilliant future
Default Re: Looking for some good spots near Clackamas or Sandy Rivers

I fished the Clack a bit at Clackamette park, but the flow's pretty heavy there. Apparently its a good spot to net smelt during the run though.

There's access at a boat ramp across the river from Carver, with a steep creek pouring into the river right there.

I fished the Sandy as well, from Wildwood Park, I think. I caught nothing at any of those spots, how y'all do better.

Aside from fishing, enjoy Gustav's and McMenamin's.