The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Pacific Northwest

Pacific Northwest Alaska, Oregon and Washington. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2014, 10:14 PM

caddy8581 is on a distinguished road
Default Best Boat for Fly Fishing

Hey guys, sorry if this has been asked (I'm sure it has). What is the best boat for fly fishing. I am new to fly fishing, been doing it for about a year (been fishing since I could walk, im from Minnesota) and I am yet to catch anything with a fly rod. I live on Whidbey island WA and fish lakes and pretty much every lake requires a boat. I don't want to get a float tube so I am looking to either get a kayak or a pontoon. What are you experiences with them and what would you suggest for a beginner. Also I cannot spend a lot of money on anything, maybe 300. Thanks Guys. #Go Hawks!!!
Old 06-16-2014, 09:19 AM

cherokee509 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Best Boat for Fly Fishing

[IMG][/IMG]Well, Im fairly new to fly fishing and tying as well. And have some of the issues you are having. I recently bought a 9' pontoon Outcast on craigslist for 200. It was a steal so I couldnt pass it up. I have been using it on the small local lakes here in the ellensburg area catching only small, tiny fish! I have come to the realization that accessibility, although it is very important, if you arent using the right flies for the area, conditions, and season, you wont have much luck. Even if you are fishing out of a 5000 drift boat! lol I floated about 7 miles of the Yakima river yesterday morning for the first time. And although I had a great time, once again only caught a few 3-6" rainbows.