The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Pacific Southwest

Pacific Southwest California and Hawaii. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2012, 10:08 AM

gregdio is on a distinguished road
Default New to Forum and Sac area

I just joined this forum and it seems like a great resource. I am new to fly fishing, but not fishing, been loving the outdoors and fishing since a little boy. I recently move to Roseville, just east of Sacramento and decided to fulfill a lifelong desire in learning to fly fish. I had bought a rod, reel and a few flies many years ago when I first wanted to learn but life somehow interfered. My father in-law, who had been an avid fly fisherman, gave me his prized collection of Dan Bailey hand tied flies. That was all I needed to jump in with both feet.

Recently I had taken a beginners clinic to learn the basics, I am now eager to get on the water. My biggest question at this point is where to go. It seems in looking at a map that I am well located to find something within a short drive. If anyone can point me in the right direction it is greatly appreciated.
Old 05-11-2012, 10:24 AM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: New to Forum and Sac area

Gregdio,
Northern California is a great region to fly fish.

I80 - Truckee River, Little Truckee River, Middle Fork American River, North Fork American River

US50 - South Fork American River