The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Pacific Southwest

Pacific Southwest California and Hawaii. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2012, 09:38 AM

rickyortiz will become famous soon enoughrickyortiz will become famous soon enough
Default New guy

Hello I am a complete beginner to fly fishing. I just recently bought my first fly fishing set up and have tied a few flys that I must say are pretty hideous lol. I live in stockton so I have some pretty decent areas to fish that are not so far away. My buddy David Williams and his son actually got me into this new sport, we just got back from a 2 day trip to Kennedy Meadows up in the sierras. We had a blast and I actually caught a half dozen fish a few on some of the ugly flys I tied myself. So, needless to say it will be a awhile until I pick up a spinning rod again I still have alot to learn especially entomology aspect of the sport.
I hit the Mokolumne river yesterday with my brother right by the fish hatchery, water was pretty decent seen quite a few fish threw everything I had at them and nothing seemed to get their attention. My brother on the other hand less than 10 minutes had a 12" trout then right before we left he hooked up on a 19" steel head, both caught on a good ol fashion live worm. So any pointers or fly suggestions especially for the mokolumne river I am all ears I have a feeling that will be my home away from home since its so close to me.
Old 06-01-2012, 03:57 PM

oarfish is a name known to alloarfish is a name known to alloarfish is a name known to alloarfish is a name known to alloarfish is a name known to alloarfish is a name known to all
Default Re: New guy

Welcome to the forum Rick, hears a very good fly shop not to far from you FLY FISHING SPECIALTIES

Rick