The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Pacific Southwest (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/pacific-southwest/)
-   -   Pinecrest or Yosemite July 27-29 (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/pacific-southwest/290830-pinecrest-yosemite-july-27-29-a.html)

zonkerjr 07-08-2012 06:08 PM

Pinecrest or Yosemite July 27-29

Hi All,

I have been lurking around here for a little while and I'm hoping you can point me in the right direction.

I'm pretty new to fly fishing but have loved it and want to get out on the 7/27 and catch me some trout.

I'm looking for a 5 mile in and 5 mile out route, but most of the routes I've done in the Emigrant and Yosemite are quite a bit further.

If 108 to Pinecrest or a little beyond, or 120 Yosemite were the choices what would you choose and can you suggest some nice spots? It needs to be a short back pack trip because we will be coming from the SF area and having to be back Sunday night. Up I've never been to Lake Alpine off HWY-4 but it looks like a possibility too.

Ill be going out with a buddy who has been practicing in the park. It will be his first time fly fishing.

Any other suggestions will of course be welcomed.

We will be using a 3wt 7.5" and 5wt 9.5" - no waders.

Thanks for sharing.

ZJ

nickel 07-09-2012 08:51 PM

Re: Pinecrest or Yosemite July 27-29

Pinecrest and Yosimite will most likely be very packed.

PM sent

dj717 07-14-2012 12:57 PM

20 lakes basin....about a 5 mile loop, lots of water, and very pretty.

dhayden 07-14-2012 02:33 PM

If out got to pinecrest.. I've awyas found good water as I continue on 108 and get below Kennnedy mesadoww, right off the road

zonkerjr 07-14-2012 04:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dj717 (Post 471036)
20 lakes basin....about a 5 mile loop, lots of water, and very pretty.