The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Pacific Southwest (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/pacific-southwest/)
-   -   Yosemite National Park fly fishing (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/pacific-southwest/312118-yosemite-national-park-fly-fishing.html)

andy1270 02-27-2013 11:51 PM

Yosemite National Park fly fishing

I'm traveling on business to California in July and plan to stay a few extra days at Yosemite National Park. I've just recently started fly fishing and I'm an amateur photographer, so I plan to visit some picturesque areas of the park. I really have enjoyed getting into fly fishing since fishing with a guide in the Smoky Mountain National Park.

Can anyone give me advice on areas to fish for rainbows or brown trout? I'll be taking my waders, boots, and 5wt 9' TFO rod with a Sage 1650 reel. I'm hoping to study up on flies to take too, so I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks for any help.

planettrout 02-28-2013 12:14 AM

Re: Yosemite National Park fly fishing

Ck. out this articje from FFM...

Tuolumne Meadows - Fly Fisherman

PT/TB ;)

trout trekker 02-28-2013 11:07 AM

Hey Andy,
Welcome to our world.
Here are a couple of other basic resources to get you started.

interactive map: Image maps for Sierra Flyflishing Locations

Just outside the park:

Lower Merced | Fishing Yosemite | Dave's Sierra Fishing

TT

ghocevar 02-28-2013 12:22 PM

Yosemite National Park fly fishing

The links provide good information above Andy. In addition to that, try searching the forum using the keyword "Yosemite"

I backpacked Yosemite in early August last year and there is no shortage of fishing in the park although it is not commonly thought of as a Fly fishing destination in the grand scheme of things.