The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2009, 12:21 AM

mmorgan is on a distinguished road
Default Colorado New Guy

Hey everyone, my first post. I'm just getting into fly fishing, learning curve is steeper than I thought. I went for the first time last weekend to Elevenmile Canyon (South Platte). I caught a couple and lost several--but was frustrated by all the fish I saw up close that didn't take, especially during the "spinner fall" hatch I observed. I mostly fished a dry #20 trico parachute with a pheasant tail dropper using 5x tippet and a 7 1/2 foot 5x leader. Not sure I was rigged properly and that little white trico was almost impossible to see.

I want to hit the Dream Stream next week and am looking for suggestions on terminal tackle set up--6X? Dry with a dropper? Nymph only if none are rising?

I really want to figure this out and get better--learn the basics this fall, get over the steep learning curve, and build some confidence. Any suggestions are helpful and appreciated as well as any other places on the Front Range that are good for a guy just starting out. Oh, my rod is a 9 ft 5 wt if that helps.
Old 09-04-2009, 12:48 AM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Colorado New Guy