The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Rocky Mountain Range (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/rocky-mountain-range/)
-   -   Is 1st of July too early for dry flies on the Bighorn ? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/rocky-mountain-range/12856-1st-july-too-early-dry-flies-bighorn.html)

kingfish87 03-03-2010 11:26 AM

Is 1st of July too early for dry flies on the Bighorn ?

Greetings to all: I'm a newbie here, but overall an advanced beginner at flyfishing. (after 30 years I've given myself a field promotion to Advanced Beginner, because compared to my fishing buddies, I'm an Expert !) It Looks like the family's planned summer trip to my wife's old stomping grounds of Billings, could maybe include a few extra days for fishing. I am looking for dry-fly fishing opportunities. Is it reasonable or not to expect to find good dry-fly fishing that early on the Bighorn ? ( I'll hire a guide and do the float trip / get out a wade thing, for sure.)

webrx 03-04-2010 08:35 AM

Re: Is 1st of July too early for dry flies on the Bighorn ?

If the fish are rising, it is not too early for a dry, and sometimes, even when they are not, you can still entice them with a stimulator or adams.

d

bighorn flies 03-04-2010 11:48 AM

Be sure to bring some BWO's sizes 20 to 24 maybe some PMD's or Tan Caddis if you're lucky. The earlier season BWO's are in full swing right now which makes it promising for July. Not much of a PMD hatch the last few years but I'm hoping they come back this year.

kingfish87 03-04-2010 05:21 PM

Thanks for your thoughts guys! So, I gather that 1st of July is too early for the little yellow stoneflies...When does that hatch usually get going...or is there no such thing as usually with that hatch.

bighorn flies 03-04-2010 06:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by slimfast (Post 84435)