The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2010, 09:37 AM

laminarman is on a distinguished road
Default Late Sept trip to Montana: advice please

Hi folks, newbie on this forum.

I have the last week of September off and am planning on coming out to Bozeman, Ennis, Paradise Valley/Livingston area to fish for the first time. I live right near and fish the Beaverkill and Delaware systems in NY State, and have fished for Atlantic Salmon so I'm not a novice. I will likely only use a guide for a day IF I do a drift trip.

I'd like to try the Yellowstone to say I did it, and to see the park a bit. I'll likely find a "cabin" to rent somewhere and cook for myself or eat sandwiches on the stream. I typically get up and fish sunup to sundown with a break to eat and go pottie. I have the endurance and stamina to really hit the water. I don't mind driving an hour each way to fish, maybe a bit more. I would love one or two smaller, off the beaten path rivers with a good experience, solitude and scenery. I'll trade good fishing with no people for great fishing with arm to arm people any day of the week. I want to try to avoid rivers that demand I drift them, I prefer wading.

I'm not sure at this time of year what the weather holds, no hathes or what to expect. Any advice is appreciated, as far as fly shops, cabins, what city to choose..etc and where to get a rental car. Thanks in advance.
Old 03-08-2010, 05:17 PM

Default Re: Late Sept trip to Montana: advice please

Wow, 45 views, no advice. OK, so I'm impatient