The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

View Poll Results: Do you fish during the Winter?
Yes, as much as I can. 23 60.53%
Occasionally, a few trips here and there. 15 39.47%
Never, it's way too cold! 0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 38. You may not vote on this poll

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2012, 12:40 PM

cgrphoto is on a distinguished road
Default Winter Fishing

Thought it would be fun to see who tries their luck in the winter months out West. This is my first year ever going this late into the season, and have had decent success. Just wondering if I ought to hang up the gear or continue on through til Spring.
Old 11-28-2012, 01:26 PM
Super Moderator

jpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond reputejpbfly has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Winter Fishing

Can't stop and help fishing...I'm lucky to live in a region where it's often sunny(2800 hours a year)...but it's also often windy...
Old 11-28-2012, 01:30 PM

spiderninja will become famous soon enough

Is it considered fly fishing if you drill a hole in the ice and jig a bugger or chironomid?
Old 11-28-2012, 01:58 PM

double dry is on a distinguished road

I love winter fly fishing! Get most of my own fishing and a handful of guide trips in the winter months. Living 35 minutes from a tailwater helps....
williamhj likes this.
Old 11-28-2012, 02:06 PM