The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By al_a

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2013, 11:15 PM

al_a has a spectacular aura aboutal_a has a spectacular aura aboutal_a has a spectacular aura about
Default A matched set of trout

My wife and I live part time in a house on the Yellowstone River at the edge of Livingston, and we arrived for the spring last week. I fished a little in front of the house while getting all the chores done and getting in some work--I'm an artist who furnishes all the covers for the Bass Pro Shops catalogs, among other things, and I had to get a cover done. But yesterday was the first day I had a chance to get on the river for a longer period of time.

This year, the waters around the house are going to be a little less crowded, since they are rebuilding the bridge over the river on Park Street, and the river stretch from Mayor's Landing to Hwy. 89 is closed to floating. Since our house is downstream from the bridge, I figured it would be okay for me to float from the house down to the Pig Farm. I don't know what anybody in authority would say about it, but I'll do it until somebody tells me I can't. I have a Watermaster solo raft, which I can propel and control with swim fins as well as the oars.

Due to unforeseen things happening, I wasn't able to get my wife to follow me down to the Pig Farm, so I could leave the truck there and have her drive me back to the house, until late in the morning. It was about noon when I carried the little raft down to the river and pushed off.