The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2013, 01:22 PM

jhardin80 is on a distinguished road
Default Uncompahgre River

I will be fishing the Uncompahgre in about a week. I see some reports that say midges and BWO's are in along with a few wooly buggers. Since I am still new to all this, would it be a good idea to put a wooly bugger on and then have a midge hanging off of it or should I just fish with the midges or with just the wooly bugger?

Men and fish are alike. They both get into trouble when they open their mouths.
Old 06-25-2013, 10:35 AM

Default Re: Uncompahgre River

Anybody???

Old 06-25-2013, 10:51 AM

cochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant futurecochise has a brilliant future

A bugger with a midge trailer would be a good bet when dead drifting. If you are fishing the bugger actively, which is how I most often fish it, it's probably best to leave the trailer off and not deal with the issues that arise.

whht section on the Unc? Pa-Co? Private nearer to Montrose? Above The res?

Zebra midge drifted deep in the top of the pools where the water spills in from above is a sure bet for a larger fish. Make sure it gets down quick as those fish tuck up in there to stay out of harms way.
Old 06-25-2013, 11:20 AM