The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Rocky Mountain Range (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/rocky-mountain-range/)
-   -   11 mile canyon success (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/rocky-mountain-range/326875-11-mile-canyon-success.html)

pjosh6 08-01-2013 02:27 PM

11 mile canyon success

This past Sunday I was forced by the wifey to take a day and go fishing since we have been moving to our new house and painting, doing tile work, and other home personalization chores.. So I decided to head up to 11 Mile for the first time and I was very well pleased.. I am still a newbie and learning lots but I had decent afternoon an caught 7-8 nice rainbows out of there.. All but one were caught with a nymph set up with a zebra nymph trailing a copper John.. When the evening rolled around I started seeing the fish starting to rise so I switched tactics and set up some dries.. First I set up a elk hair caddis and could see the fish charging my fly but then would stop and turn around when less than a foot from it.. So that was a little frustrating.. Eventually I fooled one nice rainbow to take a taste of the caddis fly and landed him.. Just like anything I learned alot in the trip and continue to have fun and want to go back ASAP..

mcnerney 08-01-2013 04:54 PM

Re: 11 mile canyon success

Congrats on a great trip! 11 mile is so pretty there that you don't really even have to land a fish and can still call it a great afternoon. I love that area of Colorado.

Larry

trout champ 08-01-2013 06:21 PM

NICE! 11 Mile Canyon is so beautiful and the fish are so pretty. Good fishing all year long. Probably my favorite place to fish and I consider it my home waters.

Hope to see you out there!
Randy

williamhj 08-01-2013 07:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pjosh6 (Post 578166)