The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2013, 02:27 PM

pjosh6 is on a distinguished road
Default 11 mile canyon success

This past Sunday I was forced by the wifey to take a day and go fishing since we have been moving to our new house and painting, doing tile work, and other home personalization chores.. So I decided to head up to 11 Mile for the first time and I was very well pleased.. I am still a newbie and learning lots but I had decent afternoon an caught 7-8 nice rainbows out of there.. All but one were caught with a nymph set up with a zebra nymph trailing a copper John.. When the evening rolled around I started seeing the fish starting to rise so I switched tactics and set up some dries.. First I set up a elk hair caddis and could see the fish charging my fly but then would stop and turn around when less than a foot from it.. So that was a little frustrating.. Eventually I fooled one nice rainbow to take a taste of the caddis fly and landed him.. Just like anything I learned alot in the trip and continue to have fun and want to go back ASAP..
Old 08-01-2013, 04:54 PM
Administrator

mcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond reputemcnerney has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: 11 mile canyon success