The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2010, 11:03 AM

vapro10s is on a distinguished road
Default 1st Trip to Montana - Greater Bozeman Area FF & Yellowstone

HI,

It is very tough for me to getaway during my busy summer work season - but I have August 13-24 to fly fish in Montana. I have fished the past 7 winters in Argentina, Bahamas, Belize & Mexico along with some spring/fall days here in Virginia. So, I have some experience but would love tips on the following to make a great first trip to Montana/Yellowstone:
'
(1) Given this time of the year and limited guiding funds - What are the top three float/guiding days and waters to book?

(2) What are the top three areas to fish on my own via SUV rental and the area/time of year (will be solo so safely on my own)?

(3) Can't book a Yellowstone Lodging (unless their is a last minute source) - so any advice for a few nights near the park for daytrip access?

(4) Any value weeks or know of any last minute outfitter to try to get in on a special offering? Should I try to get over to Idaho & Henry Fork?

(5) Would enjoy a scenic drive and stays on the water and away from the summer crowds - any thoughts?

I have gathered some information but should do some planning, bookings next week as this trip is suddenly on me.

With my thanks,

John Raker,
Harrisonburg, VA
Old 07-30-2010, 11:53 AM
Administrator