The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By dhayden
  • 1 Post By yonder

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2013, 12:27 PM

flyfishmich has a spectacular aura aboutflyfishmich has a spectacular aura about
Default Yellowstone, Tetons and Idaho here I come

Well, I have read, researched and begged for advice on bugs and perfect spots.
I have gotten some great advice and some wild goose chases and all of that combined with some luck I should be happy with a few fish and some great scenery.
Everybody says bring a camera. I took so many pictures last time I didn't get to see what I was shooting-make sense? The camera gear is coming along cuz I am an amateur photo hobbyist but at the same time I also want to sit on a rock or a log and just take it in.
Any last advice? And any non fishing related stops I "need" to make. We have a group of 8 and only 2 fly fishing so we sort of have to hang out doing other things. Regardless of what we do I am sure we will have a great time.
Old 08-26-2013, 01:24 PM

chechem has a spectacular aura aboutchechem has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Yellowstone, Tetons and Idaho here I come

Take a bunch of photos.
Guess you know where to try in Yellowstone NP, and where to avoid, right?
Old 08-26-2013, 01:34 PM

flyfishmich has a spectacular aura aboutflyfishmich has a spectacular aura about

I would have looked more into fishing yellowstone but decided to avoid it since I will be with family and I dont want to look like Im ignoring anybody. Next trip out I will know where to avoid for sure. I guess I would avoid stretch that has ever had a book written about it or shown up on the cover of a magazine with a guy holding a 36" monster cutt. So, I will not go to those places.