The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-17-2013, 08:26 PM

comicho is on a distinguished road
Default Winter fishing in CO

I was wondering what are some good (specific) fishing locations for winter fly fishing in Colorado. I'm a university student at KU and I'm just looking to escape engineering school after this semester ends without having to spend too much money.

I really can't afford a guide and I really just want to figure things out on my own through personal research and spending all day on the water. There's a few lakes I already fish here in Kansas so I really want to fish off the banks of a river for trout. I'm also willing to camp and if not, then cheap lodging would be nice. I literally plan to spend all day on the river, so lodging doesn't have to be great.

Anyways, thank you for any recommendations.
Hardyreels and jslo like this.
Old 11-17-2013, 08:52 PM

comeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant futurecomeonavs has a brilliant future
Default Re: Winter fishing in CO

Several tailwaters are open year round here.

The Blue for several miles below Dillon Reservoir
I think the S Platte below Cheesman Canyon / Deckers is open

Big Thompson right below lake Estes but it is crowded.

Not sure if any stretches of the Poudre stay ice free. Temper your expectations of bank fishing as you are usually in snow or on ice shelves. Bring good waders and warm clothes.
Hardyreels likes this.