The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2009, 08:13 PM

pl4a is on a distinguished road
Default Roaring Fork in April: Guide or Solo?

Any recommendations on going with a guide vs solo for a 2-day Frying Pan/ Roaring Fork trip I'm planning in April? I would appreciate your recommendations. Here is some info that may help with your suggestions.

-I'm a novice. Have only ~20 ff outtings unde my belt.
-Never fished either frying pan or roaring fork. Completely new area.
-I don't mind exploring at all...kind of enjoyable.
-Targeting thursday and friday...2nd or 3rd week in April.
-I've never been on a float trip.

If you are recommending guide, any specific guides that you would recommend? Float, wade or both? Thanks in advance, I appreciate it.

-Paul
Old 03-31-2009, 08:39 PM

mtflyfishguide will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Yahoo to mtflyfishguide
Default Re: Roaring Fork in April: Guide or Solo?

I am a guide so I will always reccomend one, but I also book guided trips for my vacation. You can learn a ton from most guides, or you can kick back and fish and just enjoy the day, let the guide take care of you. I am a MT guide and don't know CO rivers but I think it is very advantagous to pick up a guide. pick his or her brain, have em teach you new techniques and point out spots or other rivers/lakes that you can fish on your own, I always try to help my clients enjoy their trip through its entirety, whether they are with me the whole time or not
have fun!! thats the name of the game!
Brooks Jessen MT guide #9431 Montana Fly Fishing, Missoula Montana, Montana Fly Fishing for Trout. Classic Journey Outfitters.
Old 04-01-2009, 08:09 AM

Eagletrout is on a distinguished road