The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Rocky Mountain Range

Rocky Mountain Range Montana, Wyoming, Colorado and New Mexico. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2009, 03:29 PM

80skeys is on a distinguished road
Default Suggestions for around Grand Junction

Hi all, I'm new to the GJ area and just want to solicit some suggestions for where to fish around here.

I've been twice to Pleasure Park near Delta (where the North Fork and Gunnison come together.) Had decent success on both forks using little bright midges.

I heard about the river near Meeker. Drove there a few weeks ago but it was all frozen up. Anyone know when it opens up? What to use on it?

Also heard about Roarding Fork and Frying Pan ... are those seasonal?

80skeys
Old 04-03-2009, 03:33 PM

Coloradokid is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Suggestions for around Grand Junction

The Frying Pan is a tailwater so it fishes well all year long. But it is one of the best in CO, IMO.

Roaring Fork, is a freestone river, and during spring, it will have very high, muddy flows.

Hope this helps, let meknow if you have any questions on either of these places.
Old 04-03-2009, 03:39 PM

Yes actually I do have some questions.

How does the Frying Pan compare to the San Juan tailwaters in NM? Same kind of fishing? What are the recommended flies?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coloradokid View Post
The Frying Pan is a tailwater so it fishes well all year long. But it is one of the best in CO, IMO.

Roaring Fork, is a freestone river, and during spring, it will have very high, muddy flows.

Hope this helps, let meknow if you have any questions on either of these places.
Old 04-03-2009, 04:38 PM
Administrator