The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-10-2011, 11:31 PM

mtbrider405 has a spectacular aura aboutmtbrider405 has a spectacular aura about
Default Saltwater Newbie

Hey guys,

Im headed to Kauai in June and Im putting together a 9 wt rig to take. (very excited!) I honestly just want to catch whatever will bite. Bones would be awesome, but there are few flats on Kauai so I'm not sure what my options will be. I have been fishing steams and ponds for about 12 years now, and I am just now getting the chance to do some salt! I know, long overdue.

First, the rig I have come up with is relatively low budget. Ross Essence FS 9 wt with Allen 9/10 Alpha. Anything wrong with this setup? I mainly fish TFO, but I figured I would give Ross a try due to all the good reviews. And the Allen Alpha just looks like a beast!

My main question is what flies should be in my box? Size? Patterns? Color?

Any info on what to bring would be great!

Thanks a lot,
Jason
Old 04-10-2011, 11:46 PM

MoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond reputeMoscaPescador has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Saltwater Newbie

I'll let the local handle this one.

If "Stan Wright" does not respond to this, shoot him a PM. He should be able to recommend line - leader - fly strategy for you.

Dennis
Old 04-11-2011, 04:36 PM