The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2011, 11:00 AM

mrl0004 is a splendid one to beholdmrl0004 is a splendid one to beholdmrl0004 is a splendid one to beholdmrl0004 is a splendid one to beholdmrl0004 is a splendid one to beholdmrl0004 is a splendid one to beholdmrl0004 is a splendid one to beholdmrl0004 is a splendid one to behold
Default Fly line, leader and tippet for inshore

Hi guys,
I am relatively new to fly fishing and completely new to saltwater "fly" fishing (but not fishing). I have a St. Croix 9wt that I guess would suffice for redfish, speckled trout, flounder, etc. The only question is the rest. I have an okuma slv reel on it, not sure if it can be used in the salt, and just a regular weight forward 9wt line (do I need "redfish line"?). As for which leader and tippet I am clueless! Should I just use a stout furled leader with some 14 mono as tippet? Also, will the reel hold up in the salt?
Thanks!
Matt

"Chance favors the well prepared mind." - Louis Pasteur
Old 06-30-2011, 12:55 PM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator

peregrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond reputeperegrines has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Fly line, leader and tippet for inshore

Hey Matt, you should have a ball with that outfit in the salt-- a 9 weight is a great choice for inshore saltwater.