The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2011, 10:52 PM

floorabove is on a distinguished road
Default Long Leader on Int Sink Line in surf

So I am still learning and I came to the conclusion today that trying a long , self made graduated leader ( like 50-40-30-20 tippet) does not work well in the surf ( a beach out front ) with a lot of wind.

I now realize why so many told me just to use 3-6 feet of 50 lb test.

For what it's worth I was targeting stripers/blues/albies in Long Island on a south shore beach.
Old 09-21-2011, 12:00 AM
Banned

Location: Lake of the Woods/Rainy River Minnesota Canada border
Guest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond reputeGuest1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Long Leader on Int Sink Line in surf

Just out of curiosity, how windy and from what direction in relation to you was it? What was the leader doing you didn't like?
Old 09-21-2011, 07:57 AM

Rip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond reputeRip Tide has a reputation beyond repute