The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2007, 08:18 PM

alhunt1 is on a distinguished road
Default Bahamas Bonefish

Hi,
I'm new to this forum, and I'm a relatively novice fly fisherman. I fish a lot for panfish in local lakes and have caught bluefish and trout on fly in the salt. We're heading to Atlantis for a week this Friday . I've got a charter with a guide for next Monday, but I'd like to do some wade fishing on my own for some bonefish. What'r'the'chances of me hookin' one? I have a sage fli 8wt with some floating weight forward line. If anyone has ever been to paradise island/atlantis (or anywhere else round those parts ;-) and you have any tips on where to go to wade, what flys to use, basic strategies, etc I would most appreciate any information that you have!!! If I get lucky, I'll post a report when I return.
Thanks,
Alhunt1
Old 05-09-2007, 08:35 AM

Flyinsalt is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Bahamas Bonefish

Not a whole lot of flats fishing for Bonefish around Paradise Island or Nassau. I heard recently, though, that there is one guy who will take you to the other side of New Providence Island and show you some flats. Simon Bain used to guide out of Nassau, but I don't have any contact info for him. It is a short plane ride or boat ride on the Fast Ferry over to Andros, where the fishing is much better. I would definately take my rod, though, and try around the resort. You may not catch a Bonefish, but anything on the fly would be great fun. Let us know how you did when you get back. Good Luck!
Old 05-10-2007, 06:03 AM

alhunt1 is on a distinguished road