The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By SkipS
  • 1 Post By fq13

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2014, 05:44 PM

skrap is on a distinguished road
Default 6wt freshwater to a saltwater setup???

So, as many of you may have seen in my posts the last 8-10 months, I am new to fly fishing. I have acquired a lot of gear, mostly Allen FF rods/reels, furled leaders, close to 3-400 various flies, lumbar pack, etc, etc. All of this gear is for trout and freshwater. One of my rods is an Allen 6wt 9' Heritage with a Kraken #1. I have all this for my Madison River trip this August.

Here is my question/problem.

My family is going over to Kauai ( Hawaii) in late June. I still have a lot of other gear to pay buy for my Montana trip and don't have the budget to spend another $300 on a whole new low-end 8wt setup. What I need to know is who to set up my 6wt Allen for the saltwater. I know it will be on the light end for the salt. Basically, what size and type of leader should I use for the salt? Stick a 7-9 wt tapered mono leader on it? Still use my 4-6 wt furled leaders and 6' of 3x Tippett? I'd rather spend $50-$75 on leaders and tippets and clousers flies than another rod and real for the salt. Although I only live several miles from the ocean to be angle to use the heavier comb I have other expenses I need to take care of first.

What would your salt water 6wt setup look like? The fish I'm after varies but could range from half pound to a broken rod.
Old 05-18-2014, 10:40 PM

SkipS is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 6wt freshwater to a saltwater setup???