The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2014, 05:03 PM

mjkirshner is on a distinguished road
Default Leader question...

I usually use the tapered leaders, but sometimes I get cheap and tie my own. I'm still a novice and I ruin a lot of leaders with "wind" knots (you know, those knots we blame on the wind because we don't want to admit they are from bad casting). I end up with so many kinked leaders, that I have taken to tying my own a good part of the time. For freshwater, I use about equal lengths of 20 lb mono, 12 or 10 lb mono, and then 6 lb or 4x tippet, usually fluoro. It seems to work okay, and bass and bluegill are not very spooky.

But for saltwater, I am a little confused. I have some tapered saltwater leaders, but I have read that many people put a "shock tippet" of 20, 30 or even 40 lb test on the end. If my leader is tapering down to something like 10 lb, and then I put a heavier tippet on it, isn't it still likely to break at the lightest point, where the leader meets the shock tippet? If I am using a big fly on a 2/0 hook, and I am going to put a 20 lb tippet on anyway, why use the tapered leader? Why not just use a straight leader of 20 lb fluoro all the way? Does the leader/tippet deliver the fly differently when tapered as opposed to straight? Wouldn't a straight leader with no knots be easier and have less chance of breaking or losing the fish to a slipping knot?
Old 07-17-2014, 05:19 PM