Need help for choosing first saltwatet fly combo

jdavid71

Reaction score
Im new at fly fishing and i want a saltwater fly rod because i fish mostly saltwater. Im looking at 4 fly rod and reel combos. Tell me what you guys think and if you have any other suggestions i will gladly hear the out.

Orvis encounter combo: m.orvis.com/p/encounter-8-weight-9-fly-rod-outfit/8p45

Cabelas rls fly combo: Cabela's RLS+ Fly Combo : Cabela's

Ll bean streamlight ultra: m.llbean.com/product.html#70536

Cabelas theee fork/ prestige premier fly combo: www.cabelas.com/product/Cabelas-Three-Fo...6recordsPerPage=18

retreive

Reaction score
I ended up with several cheap rods only because I was impatient and did not try anything I bought.
Dont make the same mistake. It costs money.

pjcalla

Reaction score
Allen Fly Fishing (site sponsor) has, as their "deal of the week", a store credit ($50, iirc) when you buy an 8 weight rod, which you could put toward an Alpha or Kraken reel.

Or, you could buy a TFO BVK for ~$200 and Allen Alpha reel for $160 and be good. I think there's an Alpha in the classifieds right now.

wicked_fly

Reaction score
Allen Fly Fishing (site sponsor) has, as their "deal of the week", a store credit ($50, iirc) when you buy an 8 weight rod, which you could put toward an Alpha or Kraken reel.

Or, you could buy a TFO BVK for ~$200 and Allen Alpha reel for $160 and be good. I think there's an Alpha in the classifieds right now.
I agree with this post, great suggestions both are great products that you should be happy with for a starter outfit and you won't be ashamed of them to keep as a backup when or if you decide to "upgrade".

crkoester

Reaction score
Save up a few more bucks and get the 8 weight TFO BVK, pair it with a (discontinued) Sage 1880 reel... or a Lamson Konic. (Or a Lamson Guru if you can swing it).

This is all gear on the low end of premium... otherwise known as the "best bang for your buck" category.

labradorguy

Reaction score