The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2014, 12:39 PM

jdavid71 is on a distinguished road
Default Need help for choosing first saltwatet fly combo

Im new at fly fishing and i want a saltwater fly rod because i fish mostly saltwater. Im looking at 4 fly rod and reel combos. Tell me what you guys think and if you have any other suggestions i will gladly hear the out.

Orvis encounter combo: m.orvis.com/p/encounter-8-weight-9-fly-rod-outfit/8p45

Cabelas rls fly combo: Cabela's RLS+ Fly Combo : Cabela's

Ll bean streamlight ultra: m.llbean.com/product.html#70536

Cabelas theee fork/ prestige premier fly combo: http://www.cabelas.com/product/Cabel...dsPerPage%3D18
Old 07-31-2014, 01:08 PM

coastrider is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need help for choosing first saltwatet fly combo

Go test cast first or you will never know
Old 07-31-2014, 02:14 PM

jdavid71 is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by coastrider View Post
Go test cast first or you will never know
I cant try all
Old 08-04-2014, 11:17 AM

retreive is on a distinguished road

I ended up with several cheap rods only because I was impatient and did not try anything I bought.
Dont make the same mistake. It costs money.
Old 08-04-2014, 09:53 PM

pjcalla is on a distinguished road

Allen Fly Fishing (site sponsor) has, as their "deal of the week", a store credit ($50, iirc) when you buy an 8 weight rod, which you could put toward an Alpha or Kraken reel.

Or, you could buy a TFO BVK for ~$200 and Allen Alpha reel for $160 and be good. I think there's an Alpha in the classifieds right now.
Old 08-07-2014, 10:02 AM

wicked_fly is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjcalla View Post