The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By bigjim5589

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2015, 07:50 PM
caryflyfisher is on a distinguished road
Default North Carolina Saltwater HELP!?!?

I've grown up fly fishing for bream and bass on ponds. Then I graduated to fishing trout streams. I'm only a teenager and the only one in my family who fishes so I don't have a boat nor can I afford the high quality stuff. I got a cheap cabelas 8 at saltwater rod and a reel. I've got weight forward floating line on it in an 8wt. I have caught a small flounder on the combo but I need help on tactics for fishing in North Carolina for inshore species. If anyone has suggestions on flies or places to go and when I would love the help.
Old 02-14-2015, 06:26 AM
shopworn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: North Carolina Saltwater HELP!?!?

Sorta depends on where you go to the coast. (where do you go?) Some area are easily wadeable, solid bottom, with minimal tidal change...others can be a nightmare. Get a good feel for the bottom; how much tide change there is; and look for spots where water flows in and out of marsh areas, flats and sloughs. Sometimes fishing the backwater can be productive and also around piers and docks, riprap at causeways etc. ....flounder, redfish, trout etc. when there is some current flow. Remember in salt that fish can move a lot...and sometimes they are there...and sometimes they are not...regardless of the flies chosen.