The North American Fly Fishing Forum

The North American Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/)
-   Saltwater Fly Fishing (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/saltwater-fly-fishing/)
-   -   Best 8wt Saltwater Line? (http://www.theflyfishingforum.com/forums/saltwater-fly-fishing/5360-best-8wt-saltwater-line.html)

Black Bart 07-18-2008 10:52 AM

Best 8wt Saltwater Line?

Hi fellas, I'm new to saltwater fly fishing but have been freshwater fly fishing since I was a kid. I just recently moved to Fort Lauderdale and have decided to get into bonefish. I just bought a Sage Xi2 9ft-8wt rod and an Abel 3n reel. What would be the best Floating and a Sinking line to use for Bonefish, Snook, Lt Tarpon, Freshwater Bass,(Striped Bass as well) Etc....I really appreciate your help. Best Wishes, BB

bonefish41 07-20-2008 08:34 PM

Re: Best 8wt Saltwater Line?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Black Bart (Post 32865)
Hi fellas, I'm new to saltwater fly fishing but have been freshwater fly fishing since I was a kid. I just recently moved to Fort Lauderdale and have decided to get into bonefish. I just bought a Sage Xi2 9ft-8wt rod and an Abel 3n reel. What would be the best Floating and a Sinking line to use for Bonefish, Snook, Lt Tarpon, Freshwater Bass,(Striped Bass as well) Etc....I really appreciate your help. Best Wishes, BB

You got the right reel and rod...line for FLA floating Cortland Tropic Plus...RIO Tropical Clouser better in the wind than their Bonefish IMHO

Black Bart 07-21-2008 08:15 AM

Thanks Bonefish41, I really appreciate your help? Are you using regular dacron backing or any of the newer braided lines? I've never really had to worry about it in the past, New England trout rarely get to it!! Thanks Again, BB

Frank Whiton 07-21-2008 08:42 AM

Hi Bonefish41,

Where have you been? Haven't seen you post for a couple of months.

Black Bart,