The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2008, 08:05 PM

RavenIM9 is on a distinguished road
Default newb to bonefish

Hey guys my names Robb and Im a first time poster here. I live in North East Ohio in the heart of steelhead alley and I am an avid steelhead,salmon and trout fishermen.Im currently going to school for ecotourism and adventure travel part of my degree is to spend a quarter a Forfar the schools camp on Andros Island in the Bahamas. ALthough I mainly centre pinI have experience fly fishing but nothing like what is done for bonefish the closest Ive probabally come to that is stripping big streamers at river mouths for fresh run chrome steelhead. Otherwise my fly fishing experience is limited to indicator fishing.But Im really interested in fly fishing for bones as many regard it as the ultime experience. Im already caught huge lake run browns first fish ever was 15 lbs now Im really interested in catching bone fish while Im down there. I will be down there starting the begginning of January for six weeks.

My questions are this Im looking for a nice rod for relatively cheap but something that is worth the money as well as a nice reel. I wouldnt mind spending 400 bucks for a rod and reel set up. Also whats a good line?Any flies that I should know about?

I also plan to spin fish for them so any techniques and tactis I should know about? What r some good plastic baits for bonefish?

Im interested in fishing for everything. My friends who went last year said theyre are bonefish all over the place and their easy to catch.
Old 07-23-2008, 10:05 PM

tbrillinger223 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: newb to bonefish

Hey Robb,

Welcome to the forum.

you can start off with a 9wt. or 10wt.