The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2008, 12:13 AM

kobato is on a distinguished road
Question beginner question about saltwater equipment.

Hi, I am new to fly fishing. I have no one to teach me and there are no fly fishing classes in this area. Thus, most of my fly fishing information is from internet. I have been researching all the things about fly fishing from set up selections to tactics. fishing in small lakes for trouts and bass for a few months with my Redington 6 wt rod and Rio trout selective II line. I am going to move to west coast from Arizona in few months. It seems that there are lots of opportunity for saltwater and fresh water fishing. I am wondering if freshwater equipment work for saltwater as well? Or i need to buy a totally different set up for saltwater? there are fly rods and lines specific to saltwater fly fishing. it means that salt water set up doesnt work for fresh water.
Old 11-13-2008, 09:03 AM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton
Default Re: beginner question about saltwater equipment.

Hi kobato,

Moving to the West Coast covers a lot of territory. Can you be a little more specific?