The North American Fly Fishing Forum
Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > Saltwater Fly Fishing

Saltwater Fly Fishing Bonefish, Tarpon, Redfish, Permit, False Albacore, Striped Bass, etc...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2009, 08:01 PM

googoo is on a distinguished road
Default Help rigging for saltwater

Have a fly rod i just bought...its a size 8 Eagle Claw. I know its not an expensive one, but i'm new to the sport and want to mess around before investing in proper gear. I need help with rigging my rod. The reel has nothing on it and i am in the dark as to how to rig it....Need advice quick....
Old 04-04-2009, 07:13 AM

jimw has a spectacular aura aboutjimw has a spectacular aura aboutjimw has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Help rigging for saltwater

Hey GooGoo
If you give a little more info on the places and species of fish you will be after we can get you set up.
Old 04-04-2009, 08:16 AM
Administrator

Frank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond reputeFrank Whiton has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Skype™ to Frank Whiton

Hi googoo,

We also need to know what reel you have? Is this a graphite rod or a fiberglass rod?

Frank
Old 04-05-2009, 08:41 AM

googoo is on a distinguished road

Hey guys, Thanks for getting back to me. I have a graphite rod, 7footer, the species out here are: striped bass, bluefish mainly. I'm in Staten ISland, NY...if this helps
Old 04-05-2009, 09:47 AM
Super Moderator/Fly Swap Coordinator