The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > Share Patterns

Share Patterns List your favorite and selfmade fly patterns. Share with other tyers. Learn how to tie various flies...

Like Tree15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2012, 04:17 AM

flatsninja is on a distinguished road
Default Would this fly work?

Hello, im pretty new to tying and i dont like following steps, i like making up my own and it usually ends bad because of that but i came up with this funny crabby fly which i think may have potential
Material:
size 2 long shank hook
mono eyes enhanced with hot melt glue
orange krystal flash
one splitshot sinker (squashed to the hook)
some tan felt for the body and some hand collected feathers (from chicken, turkey and other poultry) for the feelers and body detail
plus olive yellow wool tied merkin style under that with some old backing line for legs..
Click the image to open in full size.
i like it, i call it the " Flats Crabcake" what do you think? the photos do no justice, i intend this fly for sand flats or calm beaches and sandy areas
Old 12-07-2012, 05:31 AM

jcw355 is just really nicejcw355 is just really nicejcw355 is just really nicejcw355 is just really nice
Default Re: Would this fly work?

Try it, the fish will tell you.
mcnerney and yonder like this.
Old 12-07-2012, 05:47 AM

okuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of lightokuma is a glorious beacon of light
Send a message via Yahoo to okuma