The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Tyer's Round Table > Share Patterns

Share Patterns List your favorite and selfmade fly patterns. Share with other tyers. Learn how to tie various flies...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2010, 12:20 PM

wovenstonefly has a spectacular aura aboutwovenstonefly has a spectacular aura about
Default Feather wing spey spey tutorial

This is my first attempt at a tutorial, sorry, some of the pictures are a little blurry. If I skipped any step's or needed to explain something better let me know and I'll do what I can to fix the problem or answer your questions. I like the look of this style of fly and fish a lot of them for steelhead.

Hook: Alec Jackson size 3
Tip: Small silver oval tinsel
Tag: Red orange silk floss
Tail: Orange golden pheasant crest
Rib: Medium silver oval tinsel
Body: Back half purple silk floss, Front half Purple seal dubbing.
Hackle: Schlappen
Collar: Natural Guinea hen
Wing: Black Roster cape

I use a light colored thread so when the fly is wet your floss stays the color you want it instead of letting the black hook show through and making the floss look a lot darker. I start the thread above the point of the hook and tie on a small piece of oval tinsel. If you spin the bobbin counter clockwise it will flatten your thread so it goes on a little smother. I wrap back to above where the barb of the hook was to start the tinsel. I use three wraps, one right in front of the next.
Click the image to open in full size.

Tie off the tinsel and wrap your thread to the spot just above the hook point. This tinsel tip keeps the floss from sliding down the hook while you're fishing it. Then tie in the floss for the tag. I like to split the floss in half to avoid bulk.

Wrap the floss to the tinsel tip and then back to where you tied it in.