The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Southeast U.S.

Southeast U.S. Florida, Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 10:59 AM

seanfly is on a distinguished road
Default prince nymph

i'm a beginner and i tied some prince nymphs and last weeek i got a chance to use them on some of the streams in the mountains the tuck ,nantahala, avery, raven fork, to mention a few . it seemed like no matter where i fished the only fly i caught any on was that one. ialso tried many others dry and nymphs but to no luck .is there a reason on why they only took that one and no other. Also i tried dry flies and i just can't figure out how to watch my fly when its out there. is there any suggestions on that?i'm going back in juune and hope to try to fish the dry flies and catch some then lol
Old 04-16-2012, 11:37 AM

mysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to beholdmysticm is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: prince nymph

First of all welcome to the forum!

Your question is a difficult one. Why certain Trout take certain flies is a topic that many have viewpoints on (plethora of books & first hand experiences based). In my recent trip to the Smokies, I too had good success with a Prince nymph as a dropper. I believe it is a generic attractor pattern that does not exactly match any specific mayfly stage yet 'looks' like many. Incidentally, the Prince nymph has some similarities to the 'Tellico' nymph that is very specific to the Smokies area.