The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Southeast U.S.

Southeast U.S. Florida, Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 06:53 PM

ageriner is on a distinguished road
Default beginner / intermediate fly rod & reel suggestions

I'm still relatively new to fly fishing - absolutely love it! Caught my first redfish on the flats this week in the lowcountry SC. I have been using a cheap entry level fly rod / reel combo from Bass Pro and am ready to get something semi-serious. Money is unfortunately a priority. I'm overwhelmed by manufacturers (Loomis, Sage, Orbis, etc...) and very ignorant but am learning quickly. I've been looking at an entry level starter kit for around $180ish from Redington (the 890-4 or 990-4?) but would like to get some recommendations on good reel / rod / and lines to use with these on a step up from this with ballpark pricing. Went to Bass Pro today and spent a good hour and a half with a great sales rep but still have a lot to learn. Will be fishing primarily for reds and some trout. Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Andrew
Old 10-05-2012, 10:12 PM

crruns will become famous soon enough
Default Re: beginner / intermediate fly rod & reel suggestions

I have been fishing the TFO Nxt combo in a 9' 5/6 weight, and it's very highly regarded. The reel isn't outstanding, but for small water, is more than adequate. When I was at the fly show last year, the TFO guys claimed that the rod blank for the NXT is the same as what they use for the BVK, but with lower spec guides, seats and handle. I added in a decent line after my first outing, but I expect that I'll have this rod around for a while.

The combo comes in a 4/5 weight as well (I'm not sure what they actually mean when they split the weights like that)

Chad