The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Southeast U.S.

Southeast U.S. Florida, Georgia, South Carolina and North Carolina. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-16-2013, 11:37 AM

jur1st is on a distinguished road
Default Key West After Labor Day

I'll be taking a vacation with my wife in Key West in a few weeks and am hoping to get at least a day of fishing in while I'm there. This would be my first time fly fishing in salt water, but I've got some experience that I hope will help.

I've got a heavier rig that I used for Pike in northern Manitoba years ago that I'm planning on taking with me. Since I'm in KC I should be able to get everything refreshed at Cabelas or K&K before taking off. Here are the limitations:

- While we're driving down from Miami, we're going to ditch the car after the first day. Staying in a condo on the Atlantic side.
- My heavy rig isn't a pack rod, but I do have a lighter pack rod. The pack rod is much more suited for bass, bluegill and trout so casting big streamers or poppers is likely out of the question.
- I've looked around at some guides online but they look a little high. I definitely know you can get what you pay for (with the right guy) but as this isn't primarily a fishing trip and my wife is relatively new I don't know whether a $600 day in a boat with one n00b trying to sling for giant tarpon is much more than a recipe for a tetanus shot and divorce.

So with that, what knowledge to you all have about expectations, patterns, spots and guide recommendations?
Old 08-16-2013, 02:24 PM