The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > Spey Fly Lines, Reels and other Spey Tackle

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2017, 09:00 PM

troutclout11 is on a distinguished road
Default MOW, Rio Replacement, or Custom Sink Tip?

Are Rio Replacement Tips lighter than MOW tips? It seems like they are but I couldn't tell from RIO's site. If not, then what is the difference between them? I ask because I have a 10'6 5/6 Beulah Classic Switch I've been trying to learn with, lined with a #5 Chucker. It casted OK with 10-12' trout Versileaders, but I think these are a bit too light, and the light MOW tip (10') seems too heavy. I'm still learning, so it could be the caster, but it doesn't seem right and I think I need something in between to hit the sweet spot.

Should I go with a RIO replacement tip, a spey versileader (6' or 10'?) , or make a custom tip? Are there other options? I'm thinking I could buy T-8, cut it down to say, 5 feet, and make my own tip. That might be the compromise I'm looking for. But I'm wondering what people think of the replacement tips vs. MOW vs. other tips (including custom cuts) for lighter switch/spey set ups. I've been having trouble finding a tip that works for my rod and was wondering if anyone has any insight that could help me out. I really would like to find a tip that works to unlock all my rod's potential.

If custom making your own tips is the way to go, how do you guys weld loops into a cut piece of T (or Z) material?

Thanks, and tight lines.
Old 06-29-2017, 11:46 PM