The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > Spey Rods and Switch Rods - Fly Fishing Tackle Talk!

Spey Rods and Switch Rods - Fly Fishing Tackle Talk! Discuss all the latest Spey and Switch fly rods and double handed fly fishing rods here.

Like Tree5Likes
  • 3 Post By Hardyreels
  • 1 Post By Hardyreels
  • 1 Post By duker

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2013, 02:25 PM

beninfl is on a distinguished road
Default Hardy and Winston Spey Rods?

Hi Guys,

I'm rather new to two-handed casting, and I need to pick up a mid-priced 8-weight. I'm considering the following rods, but couldn't find much information on them:

- Hardy Marksman 2 (S or T, what's the difference?)
- Winston B2x (I realize this doesn't seem "mid-priced" but I know someone who is trying to get rid of one.)
- Winston B2-mx (ditto)
- TFO Deer Creek (lots of info on this, but just wondering how it compares)

As a comparison point, I also have a Sage ONE 4116 switch, which is awesome, and I don't like the Redington Prospector as it has a wobbly tip and I prefer the ONE's "through" flex.

Thanks for the help!
Old 04-20-2013, 02:53 PM
Administrator

Hardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond reputeHardyreels has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via Yahoo to Hardyreels Send a message via Skype™ to Hardyreels
Default Re: Hardy and Winston Spey Rods?

HI Ben,