The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Spey Casting, Spey and Switch Fly Rods and Double Handed Fly Fishing > Spey Rods and Switch Rods - Fly Fishing Tackle Talk!

Spey Rods and Switch Rods - Fly Fishing Tackle Talk! Discuss all the latest Spey and Switch fly rods and double handed fly fishing rods here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2013, 06:04 PM

scorpion1971 is on a distinguished road
Default G.Loomis Pro 4X 5WT switch

I need help in picking a line for this rod. Loomis has recommendations of 320 grains for scandi and 350 grains for skagit. I am still new to using 2 handed rods so this is all new to me. Is this recommendation for the head+tips=350, or head+350 then add tips? Some one recommended I use the Wulff Ambush 9WT TT line which has a head of 350 grains with out tips. My Fly shop said if I use this line and add tips it would be too heavy to cast effectively.

I am not sure what the difference between scandi and skagit are besides skagit being able to cast heavy flies and sink tips. I am planning on using this rod mainly for LMB and SMB in the streams I fish. I also target white bass during their spring run and steelhead in Indiana tribs. Thanks for the help.
Old 12-10-2013, 01:32 PM

chicagojohn will become famous soon enoughchicagojohn will become famous soon enough
Default Re: G.Loomis Pro 4X 5WT switch

Look at the 5 weight Rio switch chucker. It's supposed to be the best of both worlds for nymph and streamer fishing. How do you like the 5 weight pro4x switch? I was looking at that versus an echo 3 six weight switch....
Old 12-10-2013, 03:36 PM