The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > General Fly Fishing Discussion > The Tenkara Forum Threads

The Tenkara Forum Threads Discuss the tackle and techniques of Tenkara fly fishing here

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By pszy22
  • 1 Post By Stan Wright

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2014, 05:53 PM

ib me is on a distinguished road
Default folding net

I've been thinking of picking up the Simms folding net that tenkara bum sells,Has anyone tried this net??
Thanks for your in put Dennis
Old 06-04-2014, 05:26 AM

pszy22 is a splendid one to beholdpszy22 is a splendid one to beholdpszy22 is a splendid one to beholdpszy22 is a splendid one to beholdpszy22 is a splendid one to beholdpszy22 is a splendid one to beholdpszy22 is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: folding net

Don't know if this might be useful to you, but I've been using this homemade gizmo for the past two years. It works almost like magic, I haven't had to touch a single fish since I started using it. Probably not very helpful if you plan to keep any fish, or if you aren't wading since the fish falls off the hook back into the water.

THis gizmo seems particularity well suited for use with a tenkara rod -

Grab Line with off hand
Stick rod under arm
Grab gizmo
Say goodbye to fish
repeat

Click the image to open in full size.
Joni and runningfish like this.

Tenkara Fly Fishing

Tenkara Fly Fishing Forum

Tenkara Fly Fishing Blog

"People tend to get the politicians and the fishing tackle they deserve" - John Gierach, Fishing Bamboo
Old 06-04-2014, 10:11 AM

runningfish is a glorious beacon of lightrunningfish is a glorious beacon of lightrunningfish is a glorious beacon of lightrunningfish is a glorious beacon of lightrunningfish is a glorious beacon of light

That Gizmo is probably working better than Bill Dance's Dehooker.
Old 06-04-2014, 05:58 PM

sheepdog is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by pszy22 View Post