The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Upper Mid-U.S.

Upper Mid-U.S. Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota and Nebraska. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2010, 01:30 PM

barberc6864 has a spectacular aura aboutbarberc6864 has a spectacular aura about
Default Good flies for late winter/early spring in Iowa

Just wondering if anyone out there would be willing to share some tips on their favorite fly patterns for this time of year?

I am new to fly fishing and my first fly rod and reel are soon to be on there way. I am already like a kid on Christmas morning checking my email every 30 minutes to see if has shippped yet.

I know as soon as I get it I won't be able to rest until I give it a try and if anyone had any advice it would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Old 02-22-2010, 06:08 PM

raindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud ofraindogt has much to be proud of
Default Re: Good flies for late winter/early spring in Iowa

Hey Barber--

I am not in IA.... so can not help you much with regards to what's working and not right now.

Th reason I'm replying is two part:

First-- don't get too anxious to get out on the water just yet. If you are new to FF'ing, I'd suggest putting a puff of yarn (no hook) on the end of your leader and cast in your front yard or local park, or any open area.

Practice your casts, and then practice your casts, and then practice your casts..... (I have a few IA friends on the forum and know that IA is seeing much the same weather as we are (KS) right now-- most fish are pretty still...)

Spend the rest of the winter getting your cast sorted, and be ready for some good fishing come spring....