The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Upper Mid-U.S.

Upper Mid-U.S. Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota and Nebraska. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 12:06 AM

babalu is on a distinguished road
Default In need of fishing spots near by.

Hello, I'm just getting into fishing again and was hoping to find some fishing spots near by. I'm in Minneapolis and most of the time my friend and I get out we only have maybe 3 hours if we're lucky. So if any of you could point us in the right direction where we might be able to catch some decent fish. He's got waders I'm limited to shoreline and docks. I'm also pretty new to fly fishing so casting around people still makes me mess up a lot, so crowded docks are quite a challenge for me...

Thank You for any insight
Paul

Last edited by babalu; 08-28-2012 at 12:50 AM.
Old 08-30-2012, 12:03 PM

Default Re: In need of fishing spots near by.

i just tried out lake calhoun, and lets just say i got pretty lucky not to hook anybody. lol oh well always next time...
Old 09-12-2012, 10:09 AM

Spent a couple hours at lake of the isles under the bridge by channel, and cedar lake boat landing. Both spots looked liked they had signs of promise, but didn't turn out much.
Old 09-12-2012, 12:04 PM

ted4887 is a splendid one to beholdted4887 is a splendid one to beholdted4887 is a splendid one to beholdted4887 is a splendid one to beholdted4887 is a splendid one to beholdted4887 is a splendid one to beholdted4887 is a splendid one to behold

Babalu,

You're on the right track with fishing the chain of lakes in Minneapolis. There are a ton of options available to you. Don't overlook fishing the Mississippi River, or any other lake in that area. You have hundreds of possibilities.