The North American Fly Fishing Forum

Go Back   The North American Fly Fishing Forum > Fly Fishing in the United States > Upper Mid-U.S.

Upper Mid-U.S. Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota and Nebraska. Post fishing reports, ask for information, discuss this area...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 02:38 AM

AKFly is on a distinguished road
Default Leaving AK for ND

Hey everybody, I am new to all this but this seems to be the best way to get info. As the title says I am unfortunately leaving Alaska and heading to North Dakota. Its not that I'm not stoked about ND it just that I am leaving behind some beefy bows and steelies and can't seem to find anything on fly fishing in ND. Any info is good info, Thanks.
Old 01-30-2009, 08:09 PM

NDflyfisher is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Leaving AK for ND

You will have to give up steelhead and start getting used to pike, smallmouth, largemouth, and lakes for bows and browns. Where are you moving in ND?

Last edited by NDflyfisher; 02-19-2014 at 08:19 PM.
Old 01-31-2009, 02:51 AM

I'll be stationed at Minot AFB, I checked your website and was very glad to see the float tubes. I thought that I would have to sell mine but not anymore. Those bows were a reassuring site too. I am very glad to see some passionate fly fishers in ND because before your website I couldn't find anything.
Old 01-31-2009, 11:50 AM

Let me know when you get moved and I can show you around. Also, join the Dakota Flyfishers club in Minot they will help you out. It has been a long tough winter so I cant wait for spring.

Last edited by NDflyfisher; 08-01-2011 at 07:12 PM.
Old 01-31-2009, 02:36 PM
Administrator